Made In Hull – UK City of Culture 2017


Hey guys! 

Happy New Year! I hope the first 8 days of 2017 have been treating you well. 

You may or may not know that Hull (where I currently live and work) is City of Culture for 2017. There will be a huge range of events happening over the year and I can’t wait! You may have even seen the firework display on the news. I have to say, it was very impressive! 

The first event was Made In Hull. Running for a week, it shows the story of a city and its people via a range of installations about the city. Lights, images, sounds, people. What has happened in Hull’s history and what is in store for the future. 

I managed to catch the last evening of the light show. There were thousands of people there; dancing, cheering, laughing, welling up. There just was a real sense of community. I’m not from Hull, but even I, the permanent tourist, got caught up in it. 

The light show on the City Hall was incredible. I genuinely do not have enough words to describe how moving, emotional and utterly awesome it was. So, I’ve got some pictures for you!


We are Hull! Bring it on!!!! 

2017. Hull’s story. Be a part of it. Make memories, wherever you are. Tell your story. We certainly are. 

Big love xx

14 Comments

Filed under City of Culture, Places, UK

14 responses to “Made In Hull – UK City of Culture 2017

  1. Jen

    Great post and some awesome photos! Made in Hull certainly was a great start to the City of Culture year. Check out my posts on Hull 2017 and Made In Hull: https://originsculture.com Hope you enjoy the year of events in store!

    Like

  2. Those were some great pics. It’s must be an amazing atmosphere ☺

    Like

  3. Great pictures and great blog post!! I’m also from hull and I literally cannot wait to see what happens in Hull with City of Culture 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

