The NY By The Book Tag 

Hey everyone! 

Hope you’re having a restful Sunday. Today I’m going to take part in a tag. I’ve not done one for a while and I’m in a bit of a reading slump, so I figured this may help me out of it! 

I was tagged by the lovely Michelle @ Book Adventures to take part in this tag. I’m so pleased because I’ve never heard of it and I know very little about it. So, thank you very much for thinking about me! It originated here

There’s some really awesome bookish questions, so I’m really looking forward to taking part and tagging some of my lovely blogging friends. Let’s go! 


What book is on your nightstand now? 

I currently have two books by my bed that I’m reading. One of for pleasure and one is for work. The book I am reading for pleasure is really funny. It’s Love, Nina by Nina Stibbe. It is packed full of hilarious letters about working as a nanny and moving to London. I also, rather superficially, adore the cover. 

The book I’m reading for work is called The Lazy Teacher’s Handbook by Jim Smith. Don’t worry, it’s not as it sounds. It’s about enabling students to learn more whilst the teacher does less. I’ve had a right bee in my bonnet recently because I feel like I’m working harder than my students. This has handy little tweaks that I can use in my own lessons to enable students to learn without them noticing. Clever huh?! 



What was the last truly great book you’ve read? 

I’ve read loads of amazing books, but the first book that came to my mind when I read this question was The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth by Katherine Woodfine. This is the second book in this series and it’s just as good as the first. I was completely hooked. Also, the cover is just as beautiful too. 



If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

The Potterhead in me naturally wishes to meet J.K. Rowling. However, I’d love to have a chat with Oscar Wilde. I adore him and his plays are ridiculously funny. I’d ask him if he had any regrets and why he stayed with the brute that was Lord Alfred Douglas. 



What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

Hmmm I don’t know really. I’m a bit of a book hoarder so I have all kinds of books. Maybe this big book on Queen Victoria? You may/may not know I’m not a massive fan of history fiction/non fiction. It’s a bit of a surprise to me it’s on my shelf. I haven’t read it but I’d like to one day. 



How do you organize your personal library?

There is a real art to organising book shelves I honestly think. So, I have all my pretty Folio Society books on the top shelf, with hardbacks I love. Then,  the other shelves are books I’d like to read at some point. There’s A LOT. Occasionally there’s a pile of books for the charity shop because I have read them in so long, or I’ve read them and knew I wouldn’t read them again. 

 

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet?

I’ve always meant to read Daphne Du Maurier’s Jamaica Inn. I’ve avoided all TV and film versions, but then I kind of forgot about it. It’s only back in my head because an extract was used in a sample exam paper. I must crack on with reading this, one day. 



Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

There was loads of hype about John Green’s Paper Towns. But, this just wasn’t for me. The characters made me feel so mad. It completed fell short for me. I expected so much more. I didn’t find it ‘profoundly moving’ either. 



What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I’ll read anything, or at least give something a go. Nevertheless, I’m not a fan of science fiction or anything like that. It plays on my mind and I end up having weird dreams. It’s not for me at all. I’m drawn to novels that evoke strong emotions from me, whether it’s happiness or tears. Childhood memories always equal the Harry Potter series. 



If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

It would definitely have be To Kill A Mockingbird. This book is so profound and moving. It’s also a message to us all, one that will live on forever. A more modern text that I think the president should read is The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra. It’s a cracking little book. 




What do you plan to read next?

Well, after I’ve finished Love, Nina and my handbook for work, I’m going to be reading The Awakening of Miss Prim. I don’t know very much about this book, but I love the cover. I am always a bit wary of blurbs because they can be very misleading. However, this sounds very interesting. It is my next read! 

So, thank you again Michelle for tagging me. I’ve loved taking part in this and I’m feeling like I’m progressing out of my reading slump. 

Time to spread the love….

I’m tagging:

Amy
Claire
Liam
Analee
Joey
Nicola
Book Club Mom
Jess
Ashley
Arec
Jane
Melanie
Sarah & Faith
Sammie
Emily
& you if you wish! Feel free to ignore if it’s not your thing. 

Big love to you all xxx

33 Comments

Filed under Books, Tag

33 responses to “The NY By The Book Tag 

  1. Completely agree with Paper Towns, very overrated book!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the tag, Books and Bakes! I might be able to get to it – I do enjoy reading everyone’s responses, so maybe I’ll give it a go. Happy Sunday!

    Like

  3. Great to see Katherine Woodfine’s books here. I love them 🙂
    Thank you for tagging me!

    Like

  4. Oh yep definitely agree with you about paper towns, and also harry potter is awesome as always 😉

    Like

  5. I’ve always meant to read Jamaica Inn too, but until now I haven’t done it :’) We should read it together sometime!!!

    Like

  6. Love love your answers 🙂

    Like

  7. Great tag and great answers! I’m so behind on blogging right now, but hopefully I will get to it soon! 🙂

    Like

  8. The Lazy Teacher’s handbook sounds interesting. As a parent, I’m really interested in more hands-on, experiential learning for kids in the classroom, that includes learning soft-skills, with the teacher navigating but not necessarily leading. I’ll have to look in to this book.

    Like

  9. Thanks for the tag Charley! Those Folio Society books are so pretty! ❤ I haven't read Paper Towns, but I felt the same way about one of his other books, Looking For Alaska. In fact, I never finished it – it just really wasn't for me.

    Like

  10. Ah yes the president should be required to read To Kill a Mockingbird- perfect pick!! Great post 🙂

    Like

  11. Pingback: [Awards/Tags] — New York Times By the Book Tag | thoughts and afterthoughts.

  12. I nominated you
    Sorry thats was the wrong link for the Leibster Award in my previoud comment
    Here is the link:
    https://teenbooklit101.wordpress.com/2016/06/19/the-leibster-awardteenbooklit101/

    Like

  13. Congratulations!!!
    I’ve nominated you for the quotes challenge.:) Feel free to participate (or not:) ).
    https://yertscorner.wordpress.com/2016/06/20/day-3-the-quote-challenge/

    Like

  14. Totally agree with your comment about Paper Towns, and your answer to the next question. HP will always be in my heart (except for the Cursed Child), and even though I’m not a scifi fan either, I’ve been drawn to some scifi books lately, namely The Lunar Chronicles 😊 Love how personal this tag is!!

    Like

  15. Pingback: The New York Times ‘By the Book’ tag | The Mud and Stars Book Blog

  16. Isobel Moon

    oh my god I 100% agree with your Paper Towns complaints!! I hated all of the characters, and that made it hard to even get through for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

