The Book SacrificeTag 

Hey guys! 

So, as you all know I’m pretty terrible at keeping up with book tags. I do have a little notebook where I’ve written them all down, so stick with me and they’ll get done eventually! Today’s tag looks great fun. Thanks to the lovely wonderful Orang utan Librarian for thinking of me to take part. 

Here goes! (Warning – may cause controversy. I genuinely don’t want to offend anyone!) 


1. An Over-Hyped Book:- 

Situation: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked do you start chucking at the zombies?

I’m not so good on the whole hype thing. I tend to shy away from it. I got lucky with Harry Potter because I was riding that wave just as it was getting huge or I dread to think what could have happened! 

Nevertheless, a book that was overhyped for me has to be Twilight. I was 17 when this was first published and I was never really into that genre anyway, but it seemed (or felt like) it was all I saw, heard about and all I knew about for ages. The sad thing: I didn’t want to know. At 17 I would have been studying for my A Levels, reading fiction that changed my life. This did not rock my boat at all. And then the films came out… *sigh* 

  

2. A Sequel:- 

Situation: torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

Sequels are always a risky business, especially when you love the first so much. Personally, a dodgy sequel for me was The Marvellous Land of Oz. Now, what is wrong with The Wonderful Wizard of Oz? Dorothy has gone (no chequered dress – outrageous) and we have Tip as a main character, who wants to overthrow the Scarecrow who has ruled over the Emerald City post The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. Excuse me?! 

What else could they possibly need to do in the second novel that they failed to achieve in the first. I know – drama that doesn’t really matter. 

Also, there was a movie made of this too, where controversially, Dorothy is returned, the plot completely altered and they change the colour of her shoes from red to silver. Why?

  

3. A Classic:-

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

This is quite hard for me because I love my classics and I would happily travel back in time to experience them first hand, especially Victorian times. However, I do really dislike Ulysses. What is the point?! It’s so big and nothing really happens. I remember a description of a toilet scene. Marvellous. 

I’m well aware that people LOVE this book. It’s modernist fiction in its prime. It’s just not for me. 

  

4. A Least Favourite Book:- 

Situation: apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

I find it really sad that we all have books we just don’t like. But, it’s like everything. For me, my least favourite book of all time (so far because I’ve not read everything and I’m ignoring the obvious 50 Shades of absolute s***!) has to be Paper Towns. The suicide in the park, the selfish Margo and the lovesick follower, Quentin. Not for me today thanks. NB: I didn’t even bother with the film for this one. 

Again, I realise that people loved this. It’s clearly advertised as a New York Times best seller. I’m glad someone enjoyed it. 

  

Now, this was quite difficult for me because I’m a positive person and I don’t like to rock the boat. However, I feel better for having a bit of a book based rant. So, I’m nominating some of my favourite, lovely bloggers to take part in the sacrificing so I don’t feel bad on my own! 

Claire @ Art and Soul

Amy @ Curiouser and Curiouser

Liam @ Liam’s Library

Kim @ By Hook or By Book

Nicola @ Rust and Stardust

Calliope @ The Book Goddess

Lauren @ Driftinglexi

The Lonely Author Blog

Melanie Noell Bernard

Ashley @ Dreaming Through Literature

As ever – use/ignore as you see fit. 

Big love! X 

43 Comments

Filed under Literature, Tag

43 responses to “The Book SacrificeTag 

  1. I was delighted when, at Uni, we were give the option of Joyce OR Woolf. I grabbed Woolf with both hands! I tried to read Ulysses once. I got about 5 pages in and gave up. I just can’t be bothered!
    Thank you for tagging me 🙂

    Like

  2. It is good to have the occasional rant Charley! the Marvelous Land of Oz really doesn’t sound marvelous!

    Like

  3. Yay to burning a John Green. I have to admit I’ve only read Looking for Alaska but that was enough to put me off reading anymore of his books 🙂

    Like

  4. Thank you for the tag! I’m woefully behind on these but I’ll try to do this one soon. I think your answers are great! I also think Twilight was completely overhyped, and in my mind is only surpassed by Fifty Shades of Gray.

    Like

    • Oh don’t worry I’m terrible at keeping up with them. If it’s something you’ll enjoy at some point, at least the option is there.
      Oh honestly. Those books aren’t even worth publishing. But sex sells clearly!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Haha isn’t it good to get your feelings out like this? I don’t mind speaking my mind about ‘bad’ books one bit so thanks for the tag! I totally agree about Paper Towns. The characters were so intolerable to me, I couldn’t put up with it at all.

    Like

  6. Ooh this tag looks fun, I can’t wait to do it! Thank you for tagging me!

    Like

  7. I love, The Hours, by Michael Cunningham. Beautifully crafted, or anything my Annie Proulx, the Shipping News. Of course, most best sellers aren’t literary pieces, but at least folks out there are reading. Can’t argue with that. Remember, one book leads to another and someday they’ll go, Meh! I want something better. WE can always hope.!

    Like

  8. Some great observations, Books and Bakes! I know exactly how you feel about staying away from what EVERYONE else is talking about. Sometimes, like you, I just don’t want to know! I did read a couple Twilight books – the first for my book club, but I found them pretty silly. Sequels, too are so dangerous – I felt that way about After You by Jojo Moyes. Keep on reading!

    Like

  9. Pingback: Sunshine Blogger Award. |

  10. Pingback: The Book Sacrifice Tag | Curiouser and curiouser

  11. Amazing post! I’m not a fan of Twilight or John Green’s books :/ I’ve never actually bothered with Ulysses, even though I was supposed to read it for uni, cos every stream of consciousness book I’ve ever tried I haven’t been able to finish- they’re just not for me. I don’t like the sound of that sequel to Wizard of Oz either.

    Like

  12. Pingback: The Book Sacrifice Tag. – driftinglexi

  13. Over-hyped: The Road, by Cormac McCarthy. Or possibly Perfume, one of the few books I’ve never finished.
    Sequel: Almost any of those stupid Pride & Prejudice ‘sequels’, except PD James’ Death Comes to Pemberley – that one was quite good fun. Or do these not count because they weren’t written by Austen? In which case not sure.
    Classic: Probably Wuthering Heights, but I probably need to read more of the classics. Oo, actually! Maybe some of Walter Scott – I liked Ivanhoe, but struggled with Guy Manning, I think it was. Book the Second of the Waverley novels, anyway.
    Book to Burn: Can I have more than one? In which case, quite a lot of the Regency romances written by people claimed to be the “heir to Heyer”. They aren’t, not by a VERY long shot! (Sorry for the caps, couldn’t make my computer do italics for a moment!). Couples having sex at every other turn does not a romance make.

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by!
      You’ve got some good choices. It’s always a bit controversial don’t you think?
      Ahh I loved Wuthering Heights but it’s a tricky read. I had to read it a few times to get my head around the narration!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Isn’t it just?! But so good for dialogue and discussions.
        What I find interesting about books is how what’s going on in your life or where you are developmentally when you read affects your reaction to what you’re reading. Does that make sense?
        For example, I loved Jane Eyre when I read it as a teenager, and I suspect if I’d read Wuthering Heights at the same time I might have enjoyed it better, but I didn’t. I was in in my twenties and I just found them all a bit (a lot) irritating in Wuthering Heights. On the other hand, I didn’t exactly throw it across the room, and I did finish it, so it has that in its favour. But I didn’t like the characters.

        Like

      • Yes,I guess you’re right! I understand what you mean exactly. I’ve had similar experiences.
        I read Jane Eyre at university and I just felt so mad with her for putting up with Rochester. It’s amazing how attached we all get.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. This is an interesting book tag, I never realised you would hate a book Charlie 😉

    Like

  15. Pingback: The GIF Tag. |

  16. dreamingthroughliterature

    Ooo this is such a fun tag! I totally agree with you on Ulysses. I also didn’t see the point of any of it. Plus, it was so boring to trudge through. Anyway, thanks so much for the tag!

    Like

  17. Pingback: The Book Sacrifice Tag! – Calliope the book goddess

  18. Pingback: Book Tag – The Book Sacrifice Tag – Dreaming Through Literature

Leave a Reply

