Happy World Poetry Day 2016! 

 

Hey guys! 

Today is World Poetry Day and there’s nothing I’d like to do more than celebrate with you all by sharing some amazing and inspirational quotes about poetry. Images are from Google for this post! Thanks Google. 

Poetry brings us all together. It enables people to feel like we are all experiencing and living through similar events and emotions. It has a habit of unifying us all together. 

  

The aim of today is to promote the reading, writing, publishing and teaching of poetry. Speaking as a teacher myself, I’m currently teaching Poetry From Other Cultures to my Year 8s and heavily promoting independent discovery and reading of poetry. There’s nothing more exciting than opening another world to them. We have a map on the wall, and we are pinning the different countries where the poems are from. Yet, we have learnt that the themes impact everyone, regardless of country. The language moves us to tap into our own emotions. 

  

Poetry is ever changing. Whilst perusing the internet today, I stumbled across an article about Robert Montgomery. He has been putting the written word out in a variety of physical public places in the form of poetry. This has become so popular, many are wanting his written word as tattoos. I found this image below. For some reason, deep within myself, this quote appealed to me. 

  

This is just one example of how poetry is being placed into the public eye in our own generation. Naturally, some won’t wish to have poetry so visibly in their eyesight. But, what we do need to acknowledge is the power of the written word. It can change your mood in an instant and it can ease some of the pain we may feel. 

  

To celebrate my love for World Poetry Day, I wanted to share with you one of my favourite poems. It makes me cry every time. It’s by Oscar Wilde. He wrote it during his time in prison for being a homosexual. Being the incredibly talented writer that he is, he wrote The Ballad of Reading Gaol, to help channel and survive his experience in prison. This is one of my favourite parts:

‘Dear Christ! the very prison walls 
Suddenly seemed to reel, 
And the sky above my head became 
Like a casque of scorching steel; 
And, though I was a soul in pain, 
My pain I could not feel.
I only knew what hunted thought 
Quickened his step, and why 
He looked upon the garish day 
With such a wistful eye; 
The man had killed the thing he loved 
And so he had to die.
Yet each man kills the thing he loves
By each let this be heard, 
Some do it with a bitter look, 
Some with a flattering word, 
The coward does it with a kiss, 
The brave man with a sword!

Some kill their love when they are young, 
And some when they are old; 
Some strangle with the hands of Lust, 
Some with the hands of Gold: 
The kindest use a knife, because 
The dead so soon grow cold.
Some love too little, some too long, 
Some sell, and others buy; 
Some do the deed with many tears, 
And some without a sigh: 
For each man kills the thing he loves, 
Yet each man does not die.’

So let’s celebrate poetry and the effect it has on us all. We can all ready the same poem around the world, and in that instant we are all connected. I hope you’ve all have a magical and very poetic World Poetry Day. 

Big love xx

  

6 Comments

Filed under Literature, Poetry

6 responses to “Happy World Poetry Day 2016! 

  1. Faith and I had a post for WPD, but we forgot to post XD
    That poem is incredibly touching, Especially when you learn of the backstory. Thank you for sharing it 🙂

    Like

  2. Happy (seriously belated) world poetry day! Love this post!! And I absolutely adore that poem- I’ve always loved Oscar Wilde and when I learned what happened to him and read that poem for the first time it broke my heart

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Desert Island Book Tag. |

Leave a Reply

