The Classics Book Tag

  
Hey everyone! 

Goodness it’s been a week since I posted. I apologise. It’s been a really funny time. I’ve been battling personal demons and struggling with different pressures at work. But, I’m all good and I’ve missed you all terribly! I’ve tried to keep up with everyone, but I’m sorry if I haven’t done a good job. 

ANYWAY! 

Now, some of you know my background is in classic literature (mainly) so, when the lovely Erika @ Erika in Bookventureland thought of me for this tag, I just couldn’t resist! Thank you for thinking of me. 

Here goes! (All images are from Google.)


An overhyped classic you didn’t really like:

Hmmm, this may be controversial, but I really didn’t enjoy Bram Stoker’s Dracula. It gave me the most awful nightmares. Vampires aren’t my thing really.

  


Favourite time period to read about:

I studied the Victorian period when I was doing my Masters degree. Therefore, this has to be my favourite. I love it. I really wish I had seen it and experienced it for myself. The next best thing: How To Be A Victoria by Ruth Goodman. Such an awesome book. 

  


Favourite fairy tale:

I’m a huge fan of the Brothers Grimm fairy tales. My favourites are: Hansel & Gretel, Snow White and Cinderella. 

  


What is the most embarrassing classic you haven’t read? 

Bit awkward… Moby Dick. I’ve never really felt interested about this whale story. I can’t see how I would enjoy it. I may give it a go at some point… Maybe. I feel so bad because people rave about this book. Oh well. 

  


Top 5 classics you’d like to read soon:

The Old Curiousity Shop – Charles Dickens 

  
Rebecca – Daphne du Maurier

  
Crime & Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky 

  
Dubliners – James Joyce 

  
The Go-Between – L.P. Hartley

  


Favourite modern book/series based on a classic:

I am currently loving the BBC version of An Inspector Calls. They’ve made some changes (with Priestley’s son’s help) but it’s still dramatic and intense. It still makes you question your every move. 

  


Favourite movie version / TV series based on a classic:

On ITV at the moment is this awesome amalgamation of a number of Dickens classics. It’s called Dickensian and it’s just amazing. I’m LOVING it so much. I can’t work it out either, but it’s so clever how so many classics have been weaved into one. 

  


Worst classic to movie adaptation:

Well, normally I’m not a fan, but the ones I’ve seen recently I’ve enjoyed. So, I guess I can’t answer this yet! 

Favourite edition(s) you would like to collect more classics from:

The Penguin clothbound are just stunning. I also have a massive soft spot for any Folio society books. Soooooo pretty. I’m really shallow. If a book is pretty, I’m way more likely to buy it. Without a doubt. 

  
  


An under-hyped classic you’d recommend to everyone:

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys. It’s absolutely brilliant. It gives a voice to Bronte’s Bertha in the attic from Jane Eyre. Naturally, because Jane Eyre is so successful, this novel got left in the dark. But, I couldn’t recommend another book more than this. 
So that’s that. Thanks again Erika. I’m tagging the following lovelies:

Melanie Noell Bernard

Simon

Liam

The Lonely Author

The Orang-utan Librarian

Claire

Giselle

Jess

Drifting Lexi

Josh

& any other classics lover out there. No time? Not your thing? Don’t worry. 
Big love to you x

60 Comments

Filed under Classics, Literature, Tag

60 responses to “The Classics Book Tag

  1. Yayayay, I loved reading all your answers. The classics make my heart happy.

    Like

  2. Hi Charley, I hippie you’re well and three personal demons are now sorted. You’re always missed when you’re not about and thanks for three tag 😃

    Like

  3. Thanks for the tag Charley! 🙂 I’ll definitely be doing this one to get back in touch with my English lit roots! Enjoyed reading your answers! I didn’t realise the BBC were doing An Inspector Calls at the moment – I love that play! And you should definitely read Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier is a fantastic writer!! Also I really recommend her short stories, they are excellent! x

    Like

    • Aw you’re welcome! I was going to leave a message – just haven’t go round to it yet so I’m thrilled you’ve seen it anyway!
      I’m struggling with a lack of time to read so this made me happy and sad really! Can’t wait to see your answers. 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know what you mean, since I started my new job I have been so busy I read at about half the pace I used to, which makes reading and book blogging difficult! But as a teacher I’m sure you have it even more intensely! I have missed your posts, so you definitely haven’t been forgotten! 🙂 also with the tagging thing, I learnt something the other day which I had never realised – if you tag someone’s about page or one of their posts they get a notification to let them know they’ve been tagged, but if you tag the main url of their blog they don’t.. I have been tagging main urls the whole time and I never realised! Any ways looking forward to doing this tag 🙂 Xx

        Like

      • That’s so kind. Thank you. I’ve been really worried about it actually so that means a lot.
        Ohhhh that’s amazing thank you! I’ll have to do that. I wondered how people managed to do that. I’m so daft. Hope the new job is going well! Thanks for everything xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aww that’s okay! I know how you feel – I always get worried every time I take a hiatus from blogging, but life does have a pesky habit of getting in the way. Hope things are okay with you though, and if you need somebody to vent to, you are welcome to do so to me! And no worries, you’re not daft at all – I only realised myself the other day, because I spotted I’d been tagged in something but hadn’t had a notification, so I decided to investigate! xxx

        Like

      • Aww thank you for your help!! Xxx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Also I’m sorry to hear you’re going through a hard time at the moment. Hope things get better soon xx

    Like

  5. Don’t feel bad for not having read Moby Dick. If you ever do get round to it, just read the story chapters and skip all the chapters about whales. Seriously, there are chapters just about cetology and it gets old quite quickly. The chapters about mad Ahab and chasing the demonic whale are great though 🙂
    Those Penguin clothbound editions are beautiful…

    Thank you for tagging me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ohhh you see, I know I should be excited about that, but I’m sat here thinking hmmmmm do I really want to read this?! I’m terrible really!
      You’re so welcome. I know you’re a very busy person so please don’t feel like you have to do this. X

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Great choices- I wasn’t blown away with Dracula either- mostly cos it all felt cliche (that’s the problem with being the trend setter I guess). I love Victorian literature/historical lit set in victorian times as well. And I *need” that Arthur Rackham copy of Grimms fairytales (okay, I don’t actually need it- I have about three anthologies with all of Grimms fairy tales already- I just really want it) Love your choice of books to read next Thanks so much for the tag!

    Like

  7. I really enjoyed reading your answers Charley! I didn’t like Dracula the first time either but it’s grown on me. Plus, he doesn’t sparkle!

    Like

  8. I wasn’t able to finish Moby Dick either. Love the classic covers. I am going to have to check out that how to be a Victorian.

    Like

  9. I read Rebecca for the first time a few years ago – really enjoyed it!

    Like

  10. Awesome post! I adore classics so much! There’s something about them which is totally missing in books nowadays. As for Moby Dick, I couldn’t get past the first four pages and I’ve tried numerous times now! And I would do anything to get the entire Penguin collection! 🙂

    Like

  11. I love the Go Between! It doesn’t get a lot of attention but it’s one of my favourites. I’ve tried Moby Dick a few times and never finished it. That whale is my arch nemesis!

    Like

  12. Wow! So many classics that I haven’t read. Thanks for sharing dear. Should help me pick some classics, some day soon! As of now, too occupied ’cause of school! 😣

    Like

  13. patriciaswift

    I really enjoyed reading your answers, thank you for sharing :). I am reading The Old Curiosity Shop at the moment, I’m 3/4 of the way through and loving it! I definitely want to give How to be a Victorian a try soon.

    Like

    • Aw thank you that’s so kind. I’m struggling with it, but because I don’t have the time to dedicate to it. I love Dickens though. Are you watching Dickensian at the moment? It’s fantastic.

      Like

      • patriciaswift

        I know what you mean, some passages I have had to re-read because there is so much detail and different characters keep coming out of nowhere! No I haven’t seen it, I will give it a go at some point. It does sound really good and if a fellow Dickens fan enjoyed it then it must be good!

        Like

  14. You have such a great taste when it comes to classic books… I liked many of the books you made reference to above…. I was happily pleased to find out we converged in Dostoevsky’s “Crime & Punishment”… It is still one of my favorite books ever…
    Thanks for sharing and connecting… best wishes. Aquileana ⭐

    Like

    • Oh thank you. It’s always nice to find new books. I’m reading Decline and Fall at the minute which is quite interesting. Ohhh I’ve never read Crime and Punishment. I really should try. Would you recommend it?
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I absolutely recommend it… It is an excellent book with a sort of moral paradox behind… Plus, the characters are very well crafted…Best regards, Aquileana 😉

        Like

  15. Pingback: Classic Book Tag | Planet Simon

  16. samfalston

    I haven’t read Moby Dick either but I am reading ‘In the Heart of the Sea’ which deals with the true story that inspired Moby Dick. It’s a little slow but the lives the of whalers and their families are very interesting.

    Like

  17. Pingback: The Classics Book Tag | The Mud and Stars Book Blog

  18. I love Moby Dick. Yes, it is beyond everything you could ever want to know about whales and whaling, but aside from that, the language is stunning.

    Like

  19. Pingback: The Classics Book Tag – the orang-utan librarian

Leave a Reply

