The Disney Book Tag

  

Hey everyone! 

I’m still alive! Just very busy. I feel like I’ve been rushed off my feet recently. There’s definitely been lots of late nights and early mornings as well as a lot of coursework reading. Nevermind, it’s now the weekend and I’m back to check on the blogs of my lovely people here. Sorry I haven’t been around. I’m getting back on it now!! 

I’ve been tagged by the lovely Ashley @ Dreaming Through Literature to take part in the Disney Book Tag. Here goes! I’ll apologise now because some of the books here are what I’m teaching at the moment, so sorry if it seems a bit ‘high school’! 

The Little Mermaid: a character who is out of their element, a fish out of water. 
For me that has to be Jane Eyre. She’s completely out of her depth, poor darling. Mr Rochester isn’t so clean cut as he appears to be. Should she be the ‘other woman’? Drama, drama, drama. 

  
Cinderella: a character who goes through a major transformation. 

Juliet from Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. She changes so much and all because she meets Romeo. “Deny thy father and refuse thy name?” Nail biting drama right there. *for a Shakespearean audience. 

  

Snow White: a book with an eclectic cast of characters. 
The characters in Willy Russell’s play, Blood Brothers, are so eclectic. We have rich and poor, old and young, posh and common. An excellent play which is still relevant today. 

  

Sleeping Beauty: a book that put you to sleep. 
Why We Broke Up – Daniel Handler. I saw a review of this somewhere and thought it would be interesting, but it just made me feel a little annoyed. Slightly repetitive. 

  

The Lion King: a character who had something traumatic happen to them in childhood. 

Link from Stone Cold. It’s a novel all about homelessness. His dad left, his mum got a new boyfriend who isn’t that pleasant and eventually he decides to leave home not long after he finishes school. But, there’s also a killer on the loose. Oooer. 

  

Beauty and the Beast: a beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by but found the story to be beautiful. 
Wuthering Heights. I really do need to read this again. The narration is complicated, but it’s a really fantastic novel. It reminds me of when I was studying for my A Levels. I never thought I’d understand what was going on. I also have very vivid memories of my teacher singing Kate Bush to me. But, I grew to love it. 

  

Aladdin: a character that gets their wish granted, for better or worse. 
Aww poor little Bruno. All he wants to do is explore over the other side of the fence. It has devastating consequences. However, it shows that friendship can be found in the darkest of times and places. This book makes me really emotional. 

  

Mulan: a character who pretends to be something or someone they’re not. 
This is quite tricky, but I think it has to be Hamlet. Hamlet is my favourite Shakespeare play. No one is quite who they seem to be, but Hamlet seems to take this to the next level. He becomes a multitude of characters and personas really. 

  

Toy Story: a book with characters you wish would come to life.
All characters from Peter Pan. What a lovely book. I’d love to hang out with them all and fly around. I’d like to sneak on Hook’s pirate ship and have a mooch about too. I’d obviously be a naughty fairy for a day in order to hang out with Tink. (See I was so good here – no Harry Potter answers in sight!) 

  

Disney descendants: your favourite villain or morally ambiguous character. 
Definitely Moriarty from the Sherlock Holmes books. He’s so bad he’s bloody good. I obviously love Sherlock, but Moriarty tests him and keeps him on his toes. Excellent baddie right there. 

  

Now I nominate everyone because I’m so rubbish at remembering who has done what. Not been tagged? Consider it done!!! Do it. Let me know. I’d love to see more answers. I’m in a major reading slump so the more the merrier! 

Big love to you all x

15 Comments

Filed under Literature, Tag

15 responses to “The Disney Book Tag

  1. I like your answers. I did this post back in November and thought it was fun.
    https://michellebookaddict.wordpress.com/2015/11/22/the-disney-book-tag/

    Like

  2. Clever! I’ve read some of these, but not all. You make me want to re-read Wuthering Heights!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Same! I don’t think I appreciated it during my late teens when I was studying it. I remember finding it really difficult at first and I remember Nelly annoying me but I can’t remember why! Maybe I’ll re-read this soon. I am plodding along with The Old Curiosity Shop at the moment.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. wow that is such wonderful books and disney tags!! I totally didn’t expect what you have asked at the end of your post!!! I wonder if I should do it. Will try and If I do post I will let you know 🙂 This is a wonderful idea!! Great to see someone who reads so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I will always love Wuthering Heights, thank you for reminding me! I love a bit of Nelly, she’s bonkers haha

    Like

    • Aw you’re welcome. I really need to read it again. I don’t think I appreciated it as much as I should have done when I was studying it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m the exact same, I when I studied it it was more about shoving as many facts into my head as I could to use in an essay, but I have a few audiobooks I love to pop on if I can’t sleep and it’s always a toss up between Brönte and JK Rowling haha and I am not a 90 year old, audiobooks are just so soothing!

        Like

  5. Hi there Charlie, I was wondering where you were. I hope your business calms a bit becasue I miss seeing you about on here. But I loke the post and the choices of stories / characters.

    Like

  6. I would like to do something similar, can i get nominated for the challenge?

    Like

Leave a Reply

