The Pixar Book Tag

  

Hey everyone! 

The first week back at work and already it feels like Christmas was months ago. This week has been so busy, so I haven’t read a whole book yet (shocking!) Therefore, it seems like a good opportunity to take part in another tag. Thanks to the lovely Umbreen @ Read By Umbreen for tagging me for The Pixar Book Tag. 

Here goes! (Images are from Google for this one.)


Toy Story: a book where you wanted characters to come to life. 

I adore The Snowman. From such a young age I’ve wished for this to be real. I remember when I was younger and we had a really snowy Christmas. I wrapped up and went outside, made a snowman, borrowed my grandads glasses and scarf and willed for him to come to life. I cried when he didn’t. This book is pure magic. I watch it every Christmas and I still want the same to happen: for a snowman to take me for a flight and to a party. 

  

A Bug’s Life: Big Beautiful Butterfly – name a character that goes through a wonderful transformation or development. 

Another book that reduced me to tears: Wonder by R.J. Palacio. Auggie Pullman has such a horrid time with judgemental people. But, by the end of the novel his life has completely changed; people stop judging him on how he looks and for the first time he is happy. 

  

Monsters INC: name a book where a strong or scary character develops a soft side for someone else. 

This is quite difficult but I’ve gone for a slightly different angle here. Sherlock Holmes and Irene Adler. Despite only featuring in one story, A Scandal in Bohemia, their relationship is commonly discussed. Holmes refers to her through the collected works as “the woman”. He admires her and as a reader we see a different side to his intelligent and shrewd character. 

  

Finding Nemo: P.Sherman, 42 Wallaby Way, Sydney – name a book that has an address or another quote within that’s been burned into your memory forever. 

I absolutely love this one by the way! Naturally, it has to be Harry Potter’s address in The Philosopher’s Stone. I’m very excited at the moment because I’m teaching this book to my Year 7s. Eek! 

  

The Incredibles: name the coolest book family. 

This was quite hard for me because I can think of so many. I don’t want to be ‘boring’ so I am going to pick the Clock Family from The Borrowers. I adore these little guys. They just seem so real. 

  

Cars: 1, 2 and now 3 – Name a book that keeps getting sequels that you feel are not needed.

Hmmmm. The sequels I have read I’ve really enjoyed so I can’t really answer this one! If I could be cheeky and change the question to my favourite sequel then it would be the Galbraith series. Can’t wait for book 4! 

  

Ratatouille: name a book whose main character is not human nor a humanoid figure.

The Wind in the Willows is one of my all time favourite animal centred novels. There’s not much more to add here. It’s just wonderful. 

  

Wall-e: name a book that made you lonely.

One Day is just so sad. I love the concept of the novel, focussing on one day over a number of years. But, by the end, I was utterly broken. I also rally enjoyed the film version of this with Anne Hathaway as well. That too made me feel incredibly lonely and broken. Moving swiftly on to happier times…

  

Up: name a book whose characters you became very quickly emotionally invested in. 

The Woman in White is one of my favourite novels. It’s so gripping and intense. I was really eager to find out exactly who this woman in white was. All of the characters are instrumental to this novel so it’s hard to isolate a few. I don’t want to spoil it so read this book. It’s Victorian Sensation Writing at it’s best. 

  

Brave: name a book with a strong mother/daughter relationship.

This is a play, so I hope it counts! This one gave me a sense of dejavu because for my Masters degree dissertation, I wrote about mother/daughter relationships at the fin de siecle. The strongest for me is that of Mrs Erlynne and Lady Windermere in Oscar Wilde’s Lady Windermere’s Fan. This relationship at first appears none existant, but as the play unravels it becomes painfully clear how strong the feeling and duty of motherhood is. 

  

Inside Out: name a book that you would say could be one of your core memories. 

This is so hard because there’s so many I could pick. I apologise in advance that this answer could arguably be seems as predictable. It has to be Harper Lee’s To Kill A Mockingbird. I remember reading it at school and playing Scout in my speaking and listening assessment! 

  

Thanks so much Umbreen! I’ve had a great time doing this tag. I now nominate the following beautiful bloggers to take part:

Melanie @ Melanie Noell Bernard

Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts

Matt @ Matt and his Cats

Amy @ Curiouser and Curiouser

Liam @ Liam’s Library

As ever if you’re busy then please ignore. As well as that, if you’ve seen it and I’ve not tagged you, do it anyway! All are welcome. 

Big love xx

  

12 Comments

Filed under Literature, Tag

12 responses to “The Pixar Book Tag

  1. I’m so jealous of your year 7s! I wish I’d been taught Harry Potter in school…Thank you for tagging me! I can’t wait to read Wonder, it looks like such an important and touching book.

    Like

    • I’m only allowed because I’ve already got a full scheme of work that’s already written. It was our first lesson on Thursday and I gave them all a personalised Hogwarts letter when they entered my classroom. I was so excited honestly. Haha.
      You’re welcome lovely one. X

      Like

  2. This such a cool tag!

    Like

  3. It is an odd feeling to read part of this and remember some of the instrumental soundtrack that goes with them LOL (particularly for Inside Out since I just recently rewatched it). But thank you for the tag!

    Like

  4. dreamingthroughliterature

    This is such a fun tag. Loved reading your answers!

    Like

    • Feel free to do it too! I’d love to see it. I’m always rubbish at remembering to tag everyone and I get confused about who has or hasn’t done it! X

      Liked by 1 person

      • dreamingthroughliterature

        Thanks so much! I do the same thing. I remember a few people to tag and then later on I’ll remember all the people I should have also mentioned. It’s easy to be forgetful sometimes being part of such a big community.

        Like

  5. Pingback: The Pixar Book Tag | Curiouser and curiouser

  6. Pingback: Pixar Book Tag | Melanie Noell Bernard

Leave a Reply

