The Friends Book Tag

 
Good evening everyone! 

Hope you’re all fine and dandy and 2016 is still treating you well. 

I was tagged by the lovely Ashley @ Dreaming Through Literature to take part in the Friends Book Tag. I love Friends and I love books so this seems perfect! It appealed to me on this cold, Thursday, January evening. So, thank you Ashley! 

On with the tag! 


The One Where Eddie Won’t Go:- a character I wish would just go away:

That would have to be Claudius from Hamlet. Kill his brother to bed his wife and become king? No thanks! Jog on. 

  



The One Where Ross and Rachel Take A Break:- favourite break up scene:

Daisy Buchanan and Gatsby from The Great Gatsby. It’s my favourite because I was so frustrated and I properly disliked Daisy after. Who would turn down Gatsby?! 

  



The One With All The Kissing:- a book with lots of kissing: 
It would have to be Bridget Jones’s Diary. It’s harmless fun and there’s a lot of kissing with a lot of characters. I really love the films as well actually! 

  


The Last One:- favourite series finale:

Always and forever. I doubt this will ever be replaced. End of an era stuff really! 

  


The One With a Blackout:- a scene I’d like to forget:

A Clockwork Orange. What even is this?! This is party because I didn’t get it. I realise that it’s a really popular book and millions of people enjoyed it, but I didn’t understand the language, let alone what was happening. The cover is confusing too. (I’ll put this down to my intelligence though!)

  


The One Where Chandler Can’t Cry:- a book that did not make you as emotional as others:

Hmmm I think Revolutionary Road. Well I’m a massive softie and I get carried away with characters and the story so this was quite hard for me to pick. However, as much as I enjoyed it, it didn’t make me emotional. Maybe I used my emotion on the failure of the American Dream on Of Mice and Men instead?! 

  


The One Where Joey Doesn’t Share Food:- a book you won’t ever lend:

Any book that’s quite special to me is really difficult for me to lend out. I am really fussy as well because damaged books upset me. I went through a phase of replacing every damaged book I owned (how ridiculous?!) and giving away the others. Needless to say, that ended rather quickly. The first one that comes to mind is my Roald Dahl Tresury. It was a present off my Mum and Dad. 

  



The One With the Thumb:- a recent read that you would give two thumbs up to:

The Lady in the Van. Without a doubt. I wanted to read it before I saw the film. I love Maggie Smith so I can only imagine how amazing she is in it. But, it’s just a great little read. 

  


The One With the Ick Factor:- a book with a pet peeve:

This is a double edged sword really because I find unreliable narrators incredibly infuriating. BUT, I know they have a function as a narrative hook and building suspense within the novel. It’s obvious the novel wouldn’t be the same without it. For example: Rachel Watson in The Girl on the Train. 

  


The One With The Lesbian Wedding:- favourite LGBTQ book couple:

This was quite tricky for me because the books I love the most (Victorian) didn’t necessary have any within them. OR if they did, it was never explicitly stated. (Big no no for society at the time.) However, Basil Hallward from The Picture of Dorian Gray is definitely an interesting character. He admires the male form, in particular Dorian’s, rather a lot. There’s a reason, whether it’s right or not, why this book was used as evidence against Oscar Wilde within his trial.    

   

And that was also my 100th post! I can’t believe it! Thanks again to Ashley. I’ve really enjoyed taking part. 

I tag:

Amy @ Curiouser and Curiouser

Analee @ Book Snacks

Giselle @ Hardwork Boulevard

Calliope the Book Goddess

Laura @ Lala’s Book Reviews

& anyone else who is interested/loves books/loves Friends. Of course please ignore if you’re busy! 
Big love x

6 Comments

Filed under Friends, Literature, Tag

6 responses to “The Friends Book Tag

  1. I haven’t seen friends, but how coincidental that my ap world class today was talking about matthew perry because there is a famous matthew perry in history and my class was so confused why matthew perry from friends was involved in 100’s China and Japan ;P

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Friends Book Tag | Curiouser and curiouser

  3. dreamingthroughliterature

    I’m so glad you did this tag and had fun doing it! I enjoyed reading your answers 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

