12 Days of Christmas Blogging: Day 2

Evening! 

Time for Day 2 of the 12 Days of Christmas Blogging extravaganza! Thanks again to Amy & Curiouser and Curiouser and Laura @ Lala’s Book Reviews for nominating me. 
The Rules:

  • Include the photo below in each blog post
  • You may start at any point in December
  • Use the topic supplied for the post of that day
  • Make sure all posts are in December, but they don’t have to be posted consecutively (lets face it it’s a busy time)
  • Nominate 3 people after each blog to start the challenge
  • Have fun!

  

  

Day 2: My favourite tradition new or old.

My tradition is more of a family tradition. I don’t think that’s against the rules?! Well, I’m going for it nonetheless! 

Anyway, the tradition we have as a family surrounds the Christmas Eve run. We’ve been doing this ever since I can remember and the pattern has rarely changed in the past 20 odd years. 

Christmas Eve is an exciting day. It’s the day where everything is brought together ready for the BIG day. We wake up relatively early, with a list of jobs to be completed as long as my arm. The first thing we do is load the car with all the presents for my grandparents. The first stop is the grandparents. We swap presents, have a quick cuppa and a mince pie. We talk about our plans for tomorrow, and consult with the TV guide, noting the number of repeats usually! 

From then we head towards the turkey farm to collect our bird for tomorrow. It’s always a bit eerie there because it’s so quiet. The turkeys we’ve been driving past every weekend have suddenly gone… One lovely thing is the family hasn’t changed. I remember when one lady was pregnant. It dawned on me last year that that little baby actually processed my payment and gave me my bird. He must be a teenager now. I felt old for a second… 

This then leads us to the next stop which is my other grandparents house. We swap presents, eat 20+ homemade sausage rolls and more mince pies, drink more tea and recheck the TV times, noticing especially when the Strictly Come Dancing Christmas Special is on. (The food is always better here because my grandma is an excellent baker.)

We haul ourselves out of the sofa and head off into the dark towards home. My mum nags at my dad to have the Rod Stewart Christmas CD on as we drive along. Once home, we put the presents around the tree, watch whatever Christmas programmes are on, bath and get ready for bed. Depending on work commitments, my best friend usually pops round for a quick present swap and catch up. 

The Christmas Eve run is quite tiring, but writing all this up has really made me feel a)homesick and b) excited that I can do this again very soon. It’s those little traditions, that are personal to you, that make Christmas so magical. The smiles, the laughs, the hugs…

  

I’m jingling my bells all the way to:

Erika @ Bookventureland

Melanie Noell Bernard

Arec @ Rainy Thursday’s 
Like usual, feel free to take part or ignore if you’re busy! 

Big love xx

24 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Tag

24 responses to “12 Days of Christmas Blogging: Day 2

  1. Sounds exhasting just reading about it – I’ll take a few of the sausage rolls and mine pies though 🙂

    Like

  2. I love to read about other family traditions! Happy Holidays!

    Like

  3. This is an awesome tradition. ^.^ Usually Christmas Eve at my place was a time of… like nothing. :p (Granted my grandparents passed away when I was young and lived some ways away. It wouldn’t have been possible to exchange gifts), but we always did go to Christmas service on Christmas Eve. I think it’s cool that you have a Christmas Eve tradition. Most people think more of the day after as for their traditions. ^.^

    P.s. Thanks for the tag. I’m tempted to just use the posts I already posted for this. Hee hee! Pretty sure I’ve done most of these with my Days of Christmas series.

    Like

    • Aww yeah. I’m really excited. One day left at school and then it’s officially party time! Well feel free to Bob in and out. I’m not going to do all of them really if I’m honest with myself. It’s a Big commitment at a busy time of year! I love your Christmas series though! X

      Liked by 1 person

      • It truly is a big commitment. It’s like the worst time of year for all the extra blogging (and I’ve been tagged like six times in the last week *drowns*)

        You do? Aw! That’s so sweet of you to say! I never know what people really think when all they do is star it. :p

        P.s. I don’t think I’ve asked you yet. (If I have, sorry. :p) But would you be interested in being a guest blogger in January? I’m doing a short series on New Years Resolutions.

        Like

      • It’s nice that people think of you though! And your blog of course!
        Well when I star something it means “yeah I enjoyed and liked that!” Sometimes I miss posts though! I try my best to keep up!
        That sounds very exciting! I’m very honoured actually 🙂 can you give me some more details? X

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, I know why people star, but comments are always nice. ^.^ I like hearing people’s individual reactions to posts in their own words. I guess I’m weird. :p *is always analyzing people*

        Yes, of course! I’m looking for 1-3 of your new years resolutions with a short blurb/picture for each and then a paragraph or two about yourself to go with the post. Let me know if you’re interested.

        Like

      • Well I feel bad now. I’ll try and comment in future!
        Yeah sounds awesome! I’m not sure how good mine will be but sounds pretty epic 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Haha! Don’t feel bad! Like no one really comments. :p

        And yay! Thank you for participating! You’re welcome to e-mail me your post whenever it’s ready to noellbell@hotmail.com

        Like

  4. Nice to have some traditions like these that involve the family getting together. 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: The Beautiful Blogger Award. |

  6. Hey there, I really enjoy reading your posts and I believe that you have earned the The Word Magician Award for yourself.
    https://starlitoctave.wordpress.com/the-word-magician-award-2/
    Enjoy!
    Love
    Sam

    Like

Leave a Reply

