12 Days of Christmas Blogging: Day 1

Hey everyone! 

I was tagged by the wonderful Amy @ Curiouser and Curiouser and Laura @ Lala’s Book Reviews to take part in this blogging extravaganza, all in the name of Christmas! I should also point out that this was created by Steph J. Check them out 🙂 


The Rules:

  • Include the photo below in each blog post
  • You may start at any point in December
  • Use the topic supplied for the post of that day
  • Make sure all posts are in December, but they don’t have to be posted consecutively (lets face it it’s a busy time)
  • Nominate 3 people after each blog to start the challenge
  • Have fun!

  


Day 1: My favourite things about Christmas. 

I love Christmas wholeheartedly so I could probably list a vast number of things. However, I’ve decided to ration this down to my top 5 things as others will sneak into the other topics of this challenge! 


1. Time with family. 

I work miles away from where my family are, so it’s a time for me to go home and see them. I really miss them when I’m away. Christmas time is definitely family time. Also, we got this little guy on Christmas Eve last year so I’m really looking forward to cuddles on the sofa with him again! 

  



2. Christmas dinner.

It’s the time of year where you can really indulge. For me, Christmas dinner has always been cooked by my dad. The smell of everything roasting makes my mouth water just thinking about it. Then the Christmas pudding – always made by my grandma. It’s just so special. 


3. The lights. 

I love seeing all the Christmas lights and all the houses lit up, sparkling away. It just creates a jolly feel and it looks really pretty. When they are set against the ever darkening sky in winter, it provides that little bit of light that we need. Shakespeare’s birthplace always looks beautiful at Christmas. They do a light show with real actors and it’s really quite remarkable. 

  



4. The Christmas Tree.

My mum and dad are brilliant because they wait for me to finish work and come home for Christmas so we can decorate the tree together. One thing is always the same, the lights are tangled and some don’t work. We have had a mad Christmas Eve dash to buy more lights as well in the past! All the baubles have a story, whether it being a present from someone or a special place where we got them. A beautifully dressed tree really is a special thing. Real trees all the way as well! 
  



5. The gift of giving. 

I love to surprise people and I really enjoy buying gifts for people. I keep all cards as well – in fact I have every card since I was born. I was part of a conversation the other day where someone was saying they don’t have any surprises anymore. She picks the gifts out (by request – she’d much rather have a surprise) for her family to get her. This made me so sad. Christmas is meant to be magical! Well, she will have one surprise under her tree this year from me. That feeling when you give a gift to someone, when you treat them, is indescribable. 

I’m spreading my Christmas cheer to:

Liam @ Liam’s Library

Emily @ The Geek Undergraduate

Nicola @ Literary Ramblings

Feel free to ignore if you’re busy or if it’s not your cup of tea. 
Big love x

13 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Tag

13 responses to “12 Days of Christmas Blogging: Day 1

  1. That Christmas tree looks AWESOME! ^.^ So unique!

    Like

  2. Hi, gosh thank you for tagging me – still bogged down with work etc etc etc – maybe next year… But look forward to reading your lovely posts in the lead up to Christmas every day, I can smell the roast from here! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

