The Book Courtship Book Tag

Hey everyone! 

This weekend has flown past again, can you believe it? I thought I’d squeeze in a little post about books (well, why not?) before I get down to my TV watching and bedtime before work! 

Thank you to the gorgeous Erika @ Bookventureland  and the lovely Travelling In My Bookcase for tagging me. I really appreciate it. To know people are thinking of my little blog and I is really quite special, so thanks. I love to see all the different books people choose as well. 

Here goes!

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?  

How remarkable is this cover? So, so beautiful! It also turned about to be an amazing book as well. The plot was incredibly gripping. I didn’t want to put it down. Definitely one of my favourites ever. It was biggest selling book of 2014 at Waterstones. Read it now if you haven’t already. 

Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?

  

I saw this in a little charity book shop in Stratford and thought it sounded fascinating. I’m yet to read it but I have high hopes. I know absolutely nothing about it and I don’t usually like the summaries on the back, but for some reason this one just sounded fab. 


Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing?

  

Roald Dahl. What an amazing man. I read all his books as a child and I just love them. His writing style is truly magical. 

Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?

  

Naturally! 

Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?

  

Oscar Wilde’s poetry really does stay with me. The Ballad of Reading Gaol absolutely broke my heart. I don’t feel like I talk about poetry enough. Nevertheless, Wilde’s really is quite special. Such a massive waste of talent. 

Phase 6 – Always on my mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?

  

I admit now I know nothing about Emily Brightwell or this series, but after stumbling across this book, I am definitely going to find out more. I was kept awake thinking about who was to blame and why were they framing that specific character. It’s a really short little book but a lot happened. Fabulous! 

Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels?

  

The Penguin Clothbound Classics really are so lovely and they are a reasonable price too. They feel so lovely, just like the old old boys that are clothbound. There is a massive range of them too. I need to collect them all. 

Phase 8 – Meeting the parents: A book which you would recommend to your family and friends?

  

I tend to pick out books for my Mum and Grandma, so this is definitely on the list. For those of you who are interested in historical writing, this is a classic example. I felt like I was one of the land girls when I read this. It’s really moving. 

Phase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will re read many times in the future?

  
Without a doubt this is one of the best Shakepsearean plays, in my opinion. I love reading it and I really enjoy seeing it performed. I remember studying this at A Level and it blew my mind. It still does today. 



Phase 10 – Share the love: Who do you tag?

I know a lot of my lovely blogging pals have been tagged for this, so if you have I apologise! 

I tag:

Aria @ Aria Reads

Annika Perry

Marja @ Kyrosmagica

Amy @ What Will She Read Next

Carolyn @ A Hundred Thousand Stories

And you!! Please feel free to take part if you’d like to! 
Have a great week everyone. 

Big love xx

20 Comments

Filed under Literature, Tag

20 responses to “The Book Courtship Book Tag

  1. The amou t of books youve read is vast. Makes me feel inferior lol.
    A great post as always, hope you had a good dsy Charley. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great choices Charley!! I think George’s Marvelous Medicine is my second favorite Roald Dahl book , second only to Fantastic Mr. Fox which will always be my favorite. I still have to read The Miniaturist! It’s been on my TBR for so long and that cover is to die for. The clothbound editions of Charles Dicken’s works are so great too. I really want those or the penguin classics editions. So gorgeous. I really like it when the spines look like vintage books :3

    Like

    • Aww thank you! I can’t wait to read your port if you choose to take part! Aww Dahl is so special. What a lovely man. You should read The Miniaturist. It’s just incredible. I love how the clothbound books are coming back around. You can pick up loads now here in charity shops. Thanks for your comments 🙂 I appreciate it!

      Like

  3. Completely agree about Roald Dahl. I recently re-read The Witches and I’d forgotten just how deliciously dark his sense of humour was.

    Like

  4. Definitely love that cover for The Miniaturist! May have to check it out…

    Like

  5. Hi I also bought the Miniaturist for the cover, it’s a beauty isn’t it? Love the book too! Thanks for tagging me I’d love to take part but I’m super busy at the moment, currently doing two readathons, and just building up my new Instagram account too….. But if I have time at the weekend may join in. 🙂

    Like

  6. An eclectic mix of books there Charley. The Minituarist was great, within a few pages I was transported in time and place. Thank you so for the nomination. I’ll have a go at this sometime but at the moment I’m busy on my WIP as well as my blog.

    Like

  7. Pingback: The Book Courtship Book Tag | kyrosmagica

  8. Love this blog! Your choices were great! The Ballad of Reading Gaol breaks my heart too. I love the Penguin Clothbound Series too. And I’ve been meaning to get to the Miniaturist for ages.

    Like

  9. Pingback: The Book Courtship Tag - Ramona WrayRamona Wray

Leave a Reply

