How I Read Tag

  

Hey everyone! 

I’m taking time to catch up with all my tags and nominations. Thank you for all your support guys! I will get on top of it as soon as I can, I promise. Today’s tag comes from the amazing Amy @ Curiouser and Curioser. She’s just so lovely, and one of my first followers. Check her blog out now! Thank you for thinking of me lovely. 
This tag called out to me this evening because I’m trying to promote positive reading traits with my students. It’s completely different reading for personal choice than reading something because you have to. This tag has made reminded me why I love reading so much. Here goes! 



How do you find new books to read?

I always give myself ‘me’ time which usually consists of mooching around book shops and/or reading. I tend to find my next read there. However, since my blog, I’ve also added a huge number of books from different posts here. What a brilliant way to promote books we’ve enjoyed. Also, Penguin email me and I’m usually tempted by a title or two. 


How did you get into reading?

I always remember being a little girl, spending my Saturday’s with my dad whilst my mum was at work, going into town and buying a new book. Then we would read together. As well as this, my grandparents always bought me books. I just seemed to soak it up and exorb myself in it. I’m still the same today. That feeling of being carried away into another world is just irreplaceable. 


How has your taste in books changed since you got older?

I don’t think it has really! I’ll read anything, or try to. There’s genres that just aren’t my cup of tea, for example science fiction, but I appreciate them nonetheless. The only thing that’s changed is there are more books I have to read for school now, obviously! I still read kids books though. There’s some amazing children’s writers out there at the moment. David Walliams is a favourite. 


How often do you buy books?

All the time! I’m quite good though because I try to ration it out. I also like to buy books from second hand book shops. It’s a win win – cheap and a good deed. I only ever pre-order books I’m absolutely desperate for though. But yes, if I see a book I like or it takes my fancy, I buy it. 


How did you get into book reviewing?

I’ve blogged about this a lot recently, so I don’t want to repeat myself. But it all started with a book. However, I’m so glad I got into blogging. I really really enjoy it. I’m always learning so much as well. It’s changed my life really. 


How do you react when you don’t like the end of a book?

Mmm this is a tricky one because we all like different genres, different writers and different novels. Nevertheless, if I get to the end of a book and feel let down it’s a real shame. I do get a bit annoyed as well because I could have spent that time reading something else! Endings are always notoriously difficult to get right though. It’s always difficult when that’s the last thing people read and therefore the thing that stays in people’s minds. If it’s not what you expected or enjoyed then it’s a bit of a pain. I always have high hopes though! 


How often do you sneak a peak at the ending to see if there is a happy ending? 

Never! What is the point? I also get really annoyed if people spoil endings for me. This happened a lot when the Harry Potter series came out. I always queued at midnight (yep I am one of those!) and read it so people couldn’t ruin it for me. Sometimes it can’t be helped, but when it’s intentional, it’s annoying! So yeah I never look at the end. 


How do you read? I nominate all my lovely followers 🙂 

Big love x

6 Comments

Filed under Reading, Tag

6 responses to “How I Read Tag

  1. This is great. I can’t wait to do this tag when I get on my computer next! Very cool.

    Like

  2. Nice tag! It makes me mad when my sister tells me a book’s end and unluckily she loves to do that!

    Like

  3. Another great tag and enjoyed learning about your reading experiences.

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Book Courtship Book Tag | Travelling In My Bookcase

Leave a Reply

