The Real Neat Blog Award

  
Hey guys! 

Hope you’re all doing well. I’ve been tagged by the lovely Jessica at Mud and Stars for this award. Thank you so so much. She’s really friendly and has a great blog. Go check her out! 


The rules:

  • Put the award logo on your blog.
  • Answer 7 questions asked by the person who nominated you & create 7 new ones
  • Thank the people who nominated you, linking to their blog.
  • Nominate any number of bloggers you like, linking to their blogs.
  • Let them know you nominated them (by commenting on their blog, etc.)


Jessica’s Questions – My Answers

1. What would be the one book you’d recommend to someone who says they don’t like reading?

I would definitely pick something short and lighthearted. My natural reaction is of course Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. However, I also think classics like Of Mice and Men and The Great Gatsby are also a good way into reading. I love David Walliams books as well. I laugh my head off all the way through. He’s so talented. 

2. Are there any books which have been made into a film where you think the film is better than the book? (And also, because I’m curious, which film adaptation do you think completely butchered a book you love?)

Sadly, never. I’m really funny about this. I will always read the books first and I rarely see the films, unless I’m fairly confident they will be just as good. I just really hate the thought of something I love ring ruined. So this was a fairly useless answer! 

3. How many books have you read this year, and how many are you aiming to read by the end of 2015?

At New Year, I decided that the bog standard resolutions are no good to me, because I don’t care about them enough. So, I set myself a challenge of reading 100 books in 2015. So far, I’ve read 72. I’m really proud of that actually! Hopefully I will reach, and exceed my target. 

4. What’s a book that everyone else seems to love, but you were disappointed by?

This will be controversial, and I hope I don’t offend anyone, but Jane Austen is this massive legend in the literary world, and I really struggle to read her novels. I did enjoy Emma, but I wasn’t able to get into Pride and Prejudice. Therefore, I didn’t enjoy it much. I will try and read it again though. 

5. What do you think will be the next big trend in YA books (or books in general?)

I genuinely have no idea, but there’s always phases. I don’t think anything will be as big as Harry Potter though. There are so,e big writers out there at the minute. It just takes a spark to create something amazing. We’ll find out soon I guess! 

6. Which book on your shelf has the most beautiful cover?

I buy a lot of Folio society books and they are just so beautiful. They are all hardback and come in a slip case. The covers have designs that are individual to the plot of the novel, so there has been a lot of thought gone into the design of it. The Darling Buds of May is one of my favourites. 

  

7. Which main character from a book do you think is most similar to you?

I’ve absolutely no idea. I could sound really arrogant or really hard on myself here. Tricky question! I’ll accept any suggestions because I don’t know. They’d have to be: funny, organised, like lists, dislike rude drivers, cake and book obsessed. 


My questions: (I’ve picked things outside of reading too!)

  • What is the best book you’ve ever read?
  • Which season during the year do you prefer?
  • Do you prefer to read books then see the TV/film adaptation, or see the TV/film adaptations then read the book?
  • How would you describe yourself in three words? 
  • Early mornings or late nights?
  • What advice would you give to your former teenage self?
  • If you could pick any character, from any book, who would you pick to be your best friend and sidekick? 


Nominees:

Claire @ Art and Soul

Erika @ Bookventureland

Phoebe @ Feeling Bibliophilic

Laura @ Lala’s Book Reviews

Dreaming Through Literature

Katsmiao

Illeana @ Notyourmommasbookreviews

Lara @ Katnisspotterbooklover

Giselle @ Hardwork Boulevard

Nicola @ Literary Ramblings

Liam @ Liam’s Library

Amy @ Curiouser and Curiouser

The Literary Counsellor

The Blue Bore

Any anyone else who wishes to take part! If you’ve been nominated before, feel free to ignore! 

Big love x

15 Comments

Filed under Award

15 responses to “The Real Neat Blog Award

  1. Thank you for the nomination! I can’t wait to get around to this.

    Like

  2. Laura

    Thank you for nominating me! 🙂

    Like

  3. Thank you for nominating me! I have a huge backlog with nominations and tags, but when I do it I’ll let you know 🙂

    Like

  4. Congratulations on your award.

    Like

  5. Amy

    Thank you for nominating me! For some reason your comment got marked as spam by WordPress and I didn’t realise. I’ll do this as soon as possible! 🙂

    Like

  6. Pingback: The Real Neat Blog Award | Curiouser and curiouser

  7. dreamingthroughliterature

    Thanks so much for the tag! I loved reading your answers 🙂 Sorry it took me so long to see this. I’m perpetually behind in the book blogging world haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

