Mid-Year Freak Out Tag

Hey guys! 

Today has been a day of lots of little ‘freak outs’ – starting a new job and all, so this tag seems perfect. Thank you to the lovely Raven @ Dreamy Addictions and the lovely Illeana @ Illeana’s Book Reviews for tagging me and for being so patient with me for completing this tag as well. 

Here goes! 


1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2015

This is super hard because there’s been a few, but one that came to mind straight away is The Keeper of Secrets by Judith Cutler. It’s a brilliant plot which takes you along with it as it unfolds. I love these kinds of stories. It also helps that I have a signed copy! 

   

 

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2015

It’s a controversial one because it was written before and it’s had a really mixed set of reviews, but I loved Go Set A Watchman. If you put To Kill A Mockingbird to one side in your mind, and read it as an individual book, then it makes it easier to judge it in its own right. 

 


3. New release that you haven’t read yet, but want to 
I’m fairly certain it’s not new, but I can’t wait to read The Girl on the Train. I’ve heard some great reviews and I actually feel incredibly curious about it after reading the blurb. I will be reading it next! 

 


4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year 
I physically cannot wait for the next Robert Galbraith novel, Career of Evil. I loved the first two, felt angry and then amazed at the revelation of it being J K Rowling and let out a little screen when Galbraith announced that there will be more books here than in the Potter series. 

 


5. Biggest disappointment 
Sadly, Paper Towns. There’s been a lot of hype around the film, and I always read the book first. It was a bit flat for me. Not much happened and I don’t really get the point of the book. Sorry John Green! 

 


6. Biggest surprise  
Curtain Call was a huge surprise for me! I didn’t know anything about it, and only saw it in Waterstones as their number 2 book at one point over the summer. Again, the air of mystery to it make me completely hooked. It did have a slightly predictable ending though. 

  

7. Favourite new author (debut or new to you)

I love After Me Comes The Flood by Sarah Perry. It is brilliant and I couldn’t believe it was her first novel. She definitely deserves a bright future in terms of her writing. It was a very clever book. 

  

8. Newest fictional crush

Well last night BBC1 showed their latest adaptation of Lady Chatterley’s Lover. Oliver Mellors is a fine specimen of a man. Yummy. 

  

9. Newest favourite character

Maud from Elizabeth is Missing absolutely brilliant. She’s just so lovely. She worries about her friend, writers lots of notes to help her memory and is determined to find her best friend. 

  

10. A book that made you cry

Wonder – Raquel J Palacio. The ending just got to me. I had a few tears. It’s a brilliant book. Being different should be celebrated. This book was a little bit too realistic as well, which is another reason why I got upset I think. 

  

11. A book that made you happy 

The Hundred Foot Journey made me so happy. I enjoyed reading it because it’s all about celebrating dreams and working hard to achieve what you want in life. It’s quite inspirational with regard to overcoming tragedies and getting what you want in life. 

 


12. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year 
This is quite difficult because I don’t think I’ve seen any, so I’ve picked TV because it’s close enough. Again, Lady Chatterley’s Lover on BBC1 was fantastic. The character portrayal was outstanding. I’m so excited about the run of literary adaptations the BBC are showing this autumn. 

  

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year

I think my review on The Little Paris Bookshop. What was amazing for me was that lots of bloggers didn’t know about this book, and then it was added to their reading list because of my post. It was a lovely feeling. The link is here: https://booksandbakes1.wordpress.com/2015/07/22/the-little-paris-bookshop-nina-george/ in case you missed it! 

  

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

This is a bit of a cheat answer because I bought it a few years ago, but it’s still the prettiest book I own. It’s gold and shiny. The literature within it ain’t half bad either. 

  

15. What books do you need to read by the end of this year?

Well naturally there’s books I need to read because I’m teaching them but, books for me personally I’ve no idea. I set myself a target of 100. We will see how it goes! 


My nominations:

I’ve really fallen behind, and I’ve seen lots of blogs I’m following already taking part, so I’m tagging no one in particular, BUT if you’ve not done it and would like to, feel free!! 

BL xx

8 Comments

Filed under Literature, Tag

8 responses to “Mid-Year Freak Out Tag

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed The Hundred Foot Journey! It’s been on my TBR for along time so I should probably get to it soon lol. Have you seen the movie?
    And The Little Parish Bookshop sounds like the perfect book for a book-lover! o:

    Like

Leave a Reply

