The Summer Reader Book Tag

Good morning everyone!

I was tagged by the lovely Ashley @ Dreaming Through Literature for thinking of me for this tag. She’s lovely and her blog is great. Go check her out. 

On with this brilliant tag! Like usual, I’ve tried to think of books I’ve not reviewed or tagged before. Also, this is one more way in which I’m trying to hold onto the last bits of my summer. Hope you enjoy! 

Lemonade: Pick a book that started off bitter, but got better.  

 

This book is a bit strange if I’m honest, but there was something about it. Once you got into the modernist style, it had a decent plot to it. That modernist style was difficult for me to get my head around when I first started it. Also, the film to this book is pretty strange too. 

Golden sun: Pick a book that made you smile beyond compare.  

I read this book on holiday this year. It is absolutely delightful. Charlecote Park isn’t too fair from my parents house, it’s also a place I love to visit, so this local history really appealed to me. The fact that Mary Elizabeth Lucy wrote this for her grandchildren in her 80s really is quite impressive. I just loved it because it was something that I knew about and could relate to. 

Tropical flowers: Pick a book set in a foreign country.   

Who hasn’t wanted breakfast at Tiffany’s? I was surprised at how short this book was, but when I read it, I really did enjoy it. I also love American fiction, so this was win win for me.

Tree shade: Pick a book in which a mysterious or shady character was first introduced.   

I’ve just finished reading this book, and whilst I thought it was alright, it wasn’t no The Fault in our Stars. The mysterious character is Margo who has a habit of disappearing, but leaving clues for her parents and friends. It was a good read, but maybe I’m too old now? 

Beach sand: Pick a book that was grainy and the plot barely developed.   

I found this book a bit irritating to be honest. It was just dull and a bit moany. The main character is Rob, who sets out to work out why his past relationships failed. I’m sure people love this book and can relate, but it wasn’t the kind of plot I enjoy. 

Green grass: Pick a character(s) that is(are) full of life making you smile.

   

Edward Lear’s poetry always makes me laugh. It’s timeless. My favourite characters are the Jumblies. They are, in my opinion, fairly cute and fearless characters who went to sea in a sieve. Simple! 
Watermelon: Pick a book that had some juicy secrets.   

This book really moved me, because it contains elements within the plot that happened within Fitzgerald’s life. It mirrors the time in which Zelda Fitzgerald was hospitalised, and the characters in the book are doctor and patient. There are a lot of secrets about their relationship and their own lives within his work, but for me this one is most heart wrenching.

Sun hat: Pick a book that has a vast universe setting. 

 

I’m not a massive fan of different universe type books. I don’t think they are rubbish (before people get offended) I just don’t really enjoy them. This was a tricky one for me. *Moves swiftly on*

BBQ: Pick a book in which a character is portrayed as a hunk.   

Pip from Great Expectations is a bit of a dish. I think he’s actually quite endearing.  He has such a tough time trying to work out who he is and where this money has come from. The BBC TV adaptation showed Pip to be quite a hunk as well. What a fantastic novel. 

Thanks again Ashley! I now nominate: 

Head in the Cloud, Heart in the Books

Mel @ Dat Little Blog

Syc @ The Lit Mermaid

Simon @ SFarnell

Analee @ Book Snacks

Lia @ BookLand

Amy @ Curiouser and Curiouser

Feel free to ignore if you’re too busy or if you’ve done it before and I’ve forgotten. Or, take part if you wish to!! 

Big love xx

9 Comments

Filed under Literature, Tag

9 responses to “The Summer Reader Book Tag

  1. Interesting choices and I loved them. Thank you so much for tagging me. I’ll do the tag asap!

    Like

  2. What unique choices! Love them. 😉 Thanks so much for tagging me! ❤

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Summer Reader Book Tag | Book Snacks

  4. Pingback: The Summer Reader Book Tag | Dat Little Blog

Leave a Reply

