The Reading Habits Tag & 500 Likes

Firstly, I just wanted to say a massive thank you! I received this notification: 

  

I can’t believe it! Thanks for all the support guys. I really appreciate it and I’m not sure what I’ve done to deserve it, but it means a lot. Now onto the latest tag! 

 

I was tagged by the wonderful Calliope The Book Goddess to complete this tag. It’s a good one so thank you very much!!

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I usually read in bed. More often than not I read before I go to sleep. I find it really relaxing. Sometimes if I wake up really early I’ll read then as well. I also read on my sofa. It’s a bit of a posh one, a cream leather recliner. So, I associating reading with comfort. 

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I have hundreds of bookmarks from all kinds of people and places. I try and collect them if I’ve been somewhere or if I see one that I thinks really pretty. Sometimes I use postcards as well, but these can be too big for my books. 

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop at the end of a chapter/a certain amount of pages? 

I’m a bit funny about this actually… Don’t judge! I have to finish the chapter otherwise I get confused or forget what’s happened. I can’t just leave it, I can’t physically do it. I’m not too fussed about a certain amount of pages, but I do like to see how many I’ve got left and how much progress I’ve made as well. 

Do you eat or drink while reading?

Oh dear. I’m quite clumsy, so I try to keep this to a bare minimum. Sometimes you do get peckish though so that’s always a slight problem. I make sure the book is away from any food or drink. But, I read in coffee shops all the time and there’s food and drink near me. Hmmmm. I think I need to think about this more! I realise I sound crazy. 

Multitasking: music or TV whilst reading?

Nope, not really. I am good at blocking out sound though, so I could do it if I wanted to. But, I’d rather enjoy the book/music/TV individually rather than blurring them all together. 

One book at a time or several at once?

I can only concentrate on one book at a time. If not, I get the plot, characters and themes all mixed up and I don’t remember which goes with what story. Nightmare! 

Read at home or everywhere?

Anywhere and everywhere. I read at home, at work (perks of the English teacher job!) in cars, coffee shops, trains, parks etc. you get the gist! 

Read aloud or silently in your head?

I prefer to read in my head because I can read quicker that way. I’m actually not a fan of reading aloud because I tend to miss words out. I hated it at school. I read aloud at work as well (another perk of the job!?) but I much prefer it in my head. 

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

Nope to both. Short and sweet answer for this one! 

Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

I’m funny about this as well. I try really hard to keep my spines as new. I understand that creases and marks show how well read and loved a book is, but for me I like to keep things as smart as possible. Books are there to be celebrated and loved, and for me keeping them as new is my way of showing my love and appreciation. However, the majority of my books are from second hand shops so they have all kinds of marks on them. I always wonder where they came from and what types of people owned them before. 

Do you write in books?

I used to write in my books when I was doing my A levels because it was easier, but never ever since then. Since then, I always write my notes on any extra bits of paper or a notebook. Then I put my notes in folders. Super organised! 

What are your reading habits? I tag:

Liam @ Liam’s Library

Erika @ Bookventureland

Amy @ Curiouser and Curiouser

Miss Quickly

Giovanna @ Book Coma Blog

Claire @ Art and Soul

Giselle @ Hardwork Boulevard

Lara @ Katnisspotterbooklover

If you’re too busy, or you’ve done this before don’t worry! Im really rubbish at keeping up with who has done what! Thanks again for this tag. 
BIG LOVE X

32 Comments

Filed under Award, Blog, Nomination, Tag

32 responses to “The Reading Habits Tag & 500 Likes

  1. I always love reading these from you. It’s interesting because I can’t multitask and read, eating and drinking have to be a separate activity and I hate finishing in the middle of a chapter, but I often do.
    Hope your week is going well and you’re great that’s why you have 500 likes. I have a long way to go to catch up… Not that I’m trying πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Congratulations! πŸ˜€ Well, we know that you deserve it, you don’t have to look for the reason. πŸ˜›

    Getting to the tag, this reminded me that I have this tag sitting in my drafts, I need to post it. πŸ˜› I could relate to most of your answers. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Alicia

    Congratulations on 500 likes! I drink coffee when I read in the morning. I think that is the best way to start my day!

    Like

  4. First, congratulations on the likes! That’s a great milestone πŸ™‚
    And thanks for tagging me. I have such a backlog of tags now I can’t say when I’ll get round to it. But I’ve made a note of it so, maybe before Christmas? haha! I’ll let you know when I do it!

    Like

  5. I collect bookmarks too! But when i’m a school and just checked out a book from the school library, i always forget to grab a bookmark and then i’m like ‘help!’ when i start reading during the day and don’t have a bookmark, so i just tear a piece of paper out of one of my notebooks πŸ˜‰ Congrats on the 500 likes!!!!!!

    Like

  6. Aneta

    Congrats on the accomplishment! x

    Like

  7. Erika

    Definitely agree with you on stopping on a chapter instead of a random page. I have such terrible memory that I will totally forget where I stopped reading. LOL I also suffer from OCD when it comes to keeping my books brand new. I know what you mean when people prefer them bent and creased since it shows that they have been read or heck even “devoured” HAHA but I hate how it looks like when they are finally put back on my shelf. Therefore I prefer them looking new because it looks much nicer to look at on my shelf.

    I actually did this tag already, but thank you for tagging me! ❀

    Like

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one! I think they look so much better new on the shelf. I think I sound like a right weirdo in this tag actually haha.

      So sorry, I didn’t realise! Forgive me πŸ™‚ x

      Liked by 1 person

      • Erika

        Yes I think it’s just us being really neat freaks? HAHA

        No not at all. You answered it the way you wanted to. LOL And no problem. You didn’t know and I don’t expect you to remember that I’ve done this tag already. πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Hahah I can live quite peacefully being a neat freak! At least I have company knowing that you’re in this boat with me too!! X

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow … Big congrats on receiving 500 likes. Definitely well deserved πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

  9. Thank you. That means a lot to me πŸ™‚ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Kind of late on this, but congrats on 500 likes!! πŸ˜€ That’s awesome.
    And I love reading in bed, it’s just so comfortable, ha ha. Nice answers, it seems we have several reading habits in common! ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

