The Bedtime Book Tag

Morning all! 

I was tagged by the lovely Shannon @ Books That Love You Back to complete this tag! Being as I do most of my reading in bed normally, it made perfect sense to take part in this tag. Thank you Shannon! I urge you all to check out her blog too!

Again, I’ve tried to think of different answers. I wouldn’t want to bore you all now by blabbering on about the same books!! Sometimes I can’t resist a bit of Harry Potter though! 

So, the tag:

A book that kept you up all night: 

 

Oh this book was so good! I decided to branch out into the thriller genre and I wasn’t disappointed. I’ve not seen the film yet, but I couldn’t recommend the book more. It kept me up because I just couldn’t put it down. I wanted to find out what was going to happen. All I’ll say is, I didn’t expect the ending! 


A book that made you too scared to sleep:

 
I started my love affair with Oscar when I was at university. I adore him, his work is genius and he never ceases to make me laugh. The Picture of Dorian Gray is his only novel, and it was used against him in his trial which sent him to prison. The picture changing in the novel gave me some serious nightmares. It’s that well written! 


A book that made you go to sleep:

 

Oh dear. This book sent me to sleep a number of times. I’m not complaining, I enjoy my good nights sleep. This book was sooooo big and soooo detailed. I know it’s about a girl called Pamela, but I can’t tell you much else. 


A book that kept you tossing and turning all night in anticipation of its release:

 
I loved the first one, I got angry when people blew Rowling’s cover and I couldn’t wait for the second book, which also didn’t disappoint. I’m experiencing the same sorts of feelings in the wait for the third installment. I’m quite excited that Rowling has said there’s more instalments here for Galbraith than Harry Potter. I’ll need a new bookcase. 


A book that has your dream boyfriend:

 

Oh Mr. Big. What a man. The TV series and films only add to the fact that he’s my dream man. What a dish. Amazingly, I’m not a massive fan of the books, but I love the characters. 


A book that would be your worst nightmare to live in:

  

I genuinely don’t know how people survived on the front line. I have massive respect for them. This book was so detailed in its description that when I closed my eyes I could see it. It was really incredible. I would not be strong enough to survive. 


A book that reminds you of night time:

 

I’ve recently finished this book, it was a cracker. It reminds me of night time because all the action within the plot happens at night. There are a number of scenes of deep, dark brooding as well. Exciting stuff! 


A book that has a nightmarish cliff-hanger:

 

Ok, so this is a play, but I think it counts! The ending is incredibly bleak. It is a Shakespearean tragedy after all, but there fails to be any sort of glimmer of hope in this play. I cried when I saw it at the RSC. It is sublime.  At the end of reading, or seeing the play, you will leave feeling a bit ‘hmph’. 


A book you actually dreamed about: 

 
Like most people in the world! Dreams from Hogwarts to Quidditch to Voldemort nightmares. I may or may not have dreamed about being Hermoine’s best friend and sneaking into the restricted section of the library. Naughty! 


A book monster you would not want to find under your bed:

 

(Image from Google!)

The Three Headed Dog from Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone terrifies me. I’m scared if big dogs anyway, so three big dogs. Oh my days I wouldn’t sleep. I doubt I’ll even be able to go to bed again. Also, the fact that he’s called Fluffy doesn’t seem to make the situation any better for me. Haha! 

Thanks again Shannon for the tag. I really appreciate it and enjoyed taking part! I nominate the following fabulous people:

Bianca & Ultimate Fangirl

Erika & Bookventureland

The Literary Counsellor

The Blue Bore

Amy @ Curiouser and Curiouser

Feel free to ignore if you’re busy, or come back to it another time. I’ve lost track of who’s been nominated for what, so if you want to take part, feel free! 

BL xxx

  

8 Comments

Filed under Literature, Nomination, Tag

8 responses to “The Bedtime Book Tag

  1. I really love your answers, so many different books that don’t get talked about (and some I really need to check out!) Thanks for taking part! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Erika

    Half of the books you mentioned I have not even read. I’ll definitely check them out and see if it’s something I will add on my TBR. 🙂

    Thank you for the tag! ❤

    Like

  3. I always love these insights on your reading. Always very interesting. Shannon is a great Blogger that I’ve been following closely I’m hopeful going to have some written material for both of you to look at for me as i’ve Ben promising this for a while

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Bedtime Book Tag | Erika in Bookventureland

Leave a Reply

