Sunny Stratford (upon Avon)

Morning! 

I was given the opportunity this week to spend a whole day along the Riverside in the glorious sunshine, whilst waiting for my poorly car to be fixed. I decided to be a mini tourist for the day! 

It was a little trip down memory lane for me, I must admit. I took this first picture in my favourite spot along the river. It’s quite a way back along the RSC gardens, just before the Holy Trinity Church. You can just see the top of the RSC Theatre Tower in the background. I also had a friendly swan for company. 

  

From here I took a slow stroll across to Holy Trinity Church. It really is a remarkable building. There’s some work going on at the moment to help restore the roof, but it’s still stunning. Inside is William Shakespeare’s grave. It brought back some memories from when I was at Primary school, because we used to walk here for Harvest Festival. 

  
I then walked all the way round back to the top of riverside, past the RSC Theatre and the many boats. The pictures below are taken from a bridge towards the end of the river. In the first, you can see the beautiful theatre which is also having some work done currently. The second, you can see the lock and the town.

 
  
This is only a tiny part of Stratford, but it is rather beautiful in the sunshine. It passed the time quite nicely. I remember sitting under the big tree in the bottom picture, drinking chocolate frappuccinos from Starbucks when I was 16 with my friends. Various people would perform and act. I also remember hiding my umbrella in the bush at the end when the fair was in town. I did get it back at the end of the night! 

Memories are so important, and I feel so lucky to have this town as my growing up place. I hope everyone enjoys these photos! I’d love to see some of your photos from where you grew up.  

Have a great weekend 🙂

BL xx

22 Comments

Filed under Days Out, Gardens, Photography, Stratford upon Avon, UK

22 responses to “Sunny Stratford (upon Avon)

  1. I live in Warwick and love visiting Stratford when it’s sunny! It is like a little tourist town, it’s amazing!

    http://www.liampitts.wordpress.com | male fashion & lifestyle blog

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wish I could visit this beautiful place now! Would love to see William Shakespeare’s home 🙂
    Btw, I have nominated you for Dragon’s Loyalty Award..all details here ~ http://anartsyappetite.com/2015/08/13/two-awards-premio-dardos-and-dragons-loyalty-award/

    Like

  3. Wow, brings back memories that does. I was there so long ago and I still recognise it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

