The Pastry Book Tag

  
Hi everyone!! 

This tag was created by Aine & Writing on a Vintage Typewriter

I’ve been lucky enough to be tagged by the wonderful Erika @ Bookventureland for this tag. It links books and baking, so naturally I was thrilled to take part! Thanks Erika! I’ve spent some time on my answers for this, so here goes! 


Croissant: Name a popular book or series that everyone (including you) loves.

Series: It has to be all the Harry Potter books. I grew up with it, I’m fairly obsessed with it and I am one of millions who want to go to Hogwarts. If only! I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love it. 

 

Book: To Kill A Mockingbird. I haven’t met anyone who doesn’t love this story. I think it’s a massive shame that it’s been cut from the English Literature curriculum in the UK. It teaches us so much. It’s a classic for a reason. 

  


Macaron: Name a book that was hard to get through but worth it at the end.

For me, this has to be Wuthering Heights. I studied this for A level and it was so difficult to follow in terms of its narration. But, it was well worth it in the end. It’s a brilliant novel with some of the most iconic characters in literature. 

  

Vol-au-vent: Name a book that you thought would be amazing but fell flat.
I’m really sad to say this, but Will Grayson, Will Grayson. I just felt it was a little flat in plot. Also, the narration didn’t really grip me, and the characters I just seemed unable to connect me. Probably because I’m not called Will Grayson. I do love the authors though, especially John Green. 

  

Pain au chocolat: Name a book that you thought would be one thing but turned out to be something else.

This is 100% my own fault. I want to admit that right away. The Casual Vacancy. I loved it, but because it was Rowling I did not expect it to be about normal lives. How silly am I? There was some brilliant character development within this novel though. 

  

Profiterole: Name a book or series that doesn’t get enough attention.

Without a doubt, anything written by Jean Rhys. My favourite is A Voyage in the Dark. Rhys is almost a forgotten writer of the Victorian period. I remember comparing Jane Eyre with Wide Sargasso Sea at university and it just blew me away. She doesn’t discredit or insult Jane Eyre, she just gives a character (Bertha) a voice. And what a voice it is. I reccommend to everyone. 

  

Croquembouche: Name a book or series that’s extremely complex.

Hmmm this is quite tricky because sometimes I find books challenging because of silly reasons like I’m feeling tired or sick. However, one book that was too complex for me was Catch 22. I didn’t even finish it. I have no idea what happened or what went on in that book. I was reading it, but nothing seemed to stay in my mind. As I say, it could have just been me. 

  

Napoleon: Name a movie or TV show based off a book that you liked better than the book itself.

This is really hard. I have a rule that I don’t see the film unless I’ve read the book. I always get a bit worried about movies and TV shows based on books in case they lose some of their magic. I can’t really answer this one. However, one I did enjoy was the book and Robert Downey Junior film version of Sherlock Holmes. It was just brilliant. I’ve watched it A LOT. I’ve heard good things about the latest TV series as well, so I must try and catch up with that. 

  

Empanada: Name a book that was bittersweet.

Of Mice and Men. Every time. The ending. Oh my days. What an incredible book. So much happens, it tests your own beliefs. It’s really interesting for me teaching this to my students and how they react to it. I’ve seen tears from teenage boys at the ending! The film version as well is quite something. The characters of Lenny and George are played superbly. 

  
 

Kolompeh: Name a book or series that takes place somewhere other than your home country:

I love American Literature (I’m not sure if you can tell!) so it has to be The Great Gatsby. Like Holmes, he is one of those characters that I just wish was real, because I so want to meet him. If only I could find someone to love me that much. Ahhh. Again, another little book that packs a massive punch. 

  

Pate a Choux: Name one food from a book or series that you would like to try.

This will sound really greedy, but I would love to experience a proper tea party from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Imagine how chaotic but fun that would be! Naturally you’d have to get all dressed up for it like the book as well. 

 

Thanks again to the lovely Erika for this nomination. I’ve really enjoyed this tag! The only problem is, I now really fancy a piece of cake. 

I nominate:

Trisha Ann @ The Bookgasm 

Nicola @ Book Bunny

Lia @ BookLand

SFARNELL
If you’re too busy, don’t worry! However, I am looking forward to reading your answers 🙂 YOU take part too, why not?

BL xx

24 Comments

Filed under Literature, Tag

24 responses to “The Pastry Book Tag

  1. You must love classics, right? I haven’t managed to finish any classic book yet.
    And wow I read your post and then I just saw my name at the end and I wasn’t expecting it. Thank you so much. I’ll do the post soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do! It’s so geeky but it’s my thing. I’m really bad though, because if it’s a massive door stop sized book I’m less likely to finish it! I’m no good clearly. I know I’m sorry I got called away so managed to tag you on the post but didn’t get time to leave you a message! Can’t wait to see your answers 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. There’s some good reading guides in there. I’ve never read To Kill a Mocking Bird, but I hear it’s legendary.

    On your Napoleon, I can see why you have that rule it’s a good rule because I watched the Lord of the Rings films ages ago and I’m only now reading the books. I wish I had done it the other way round, there is so much more in the books that you don’t get in the films. I like your choice for this section, I loved Sherlock Holmes and enjoyed every page.
    You should see the new BBC series, it’s brilliant, the same but different and having read the books you will have more insight into the episodes. I haven’t seen the RDJ versions though.

    Like

  3. Thanks for tagging me!

    I’m embarassed to say I haven’t read To Kill a Mockingbird yet. I started it a couple of months ago but I still couldn’t finish it 😦 You’ve got a good book list here (though reading Classics is a challenge for me!). I’d like to try Wuthering Heights and Of Mice and Men 🙂 And oh, please tell me if Sherlock TV series is as great as the book. I’d really like to watch it 🙂

    Like

    • You’re welcome! Sorry I would normally leave you a message but I got called out quickly. Ohhh wow! You should keep trying with it, it is a good book I promise! I’ll keep you posted as well. Can’t wait to read your answers! X

      Like

  4. Erika

    Thank you for doing the tag!

    I loved reading your answers. And I must say you have great taste in books. ;)While I haven’t read that many classics they are amongst my favorites to read.

    I agree with the bittersweet ending for Of Mice and Men! I was devastated with the ending and felt really sad. Have you read East of Eden? While I felt the book dragged on a bit, I definitely recommend it!

    Catch-22 for me was just a mess. I don’t know if it’s the writing or the story, but I could not finish the book. To Kill A Mockingbird is a personal favorite mine as well. 🙂

    I may just have to re-read Wuthering Heights because my first reading experience with this book was so unpleasant. I disliked the characters so much..

    Like

    • Thank you for tagging me again Erika. You’re so kind!
      Aww I must admit I’m a bit picky when it comes to books. I wish I didn’t judge them by their covers too. I get so annoyed at myself about it. Nope I haven’t! I must try and get a copy of that. Thanks for the recommendation.
      Catch 22=awful. I just don’t like it at all. I don’t think I’ll ever try and read it again. In fact, I know I won’t because I’ve been given my copy away.
      Mm Wuthering Heights was so difficult because I got really confused. Once I got my head around it, I really enjoyed it. I had to write who was narrating which chapter inside the book actually which made it easier. It’s more of a Christmas read, so I may read it again this winter. It sounds silly but I don’t like I’d ever read it in summer. It would make me feel a bit down ha.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Erika

    HAHA I am in the same boat as you. I judge books base on their covers as well! If it looks ugly I will most likely not pick it up and read the synopsis.

    Like

  6. Wow that tag looks great, baking and books! My two favorite things 🙂 Loved your answers, and I agree with what you said on the Casual Vacancy, not what I was expecting but really good story.

    Like

    • Feel free to take part, if you haven’t done so already!
      Ohhh I know what you mean. I was just thinking it was my fault, but I guess all Potter fans may have felt the same, or expected something different. Rowling is a world class writer though I think! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

