The Blogger Recognition Award

  
Wow! Another nomination. I can’t believe it and don’t really know why I deserve it, but a special thank you to Erika @ Erika in Bookventureland for the nomination. Her blog really is amazing. I urge you all to check it out and like/follow her posts. 

This award was originally created by Eve @ Edge of the Night

The Rules:

Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post. Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above.)

Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.

Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night. That way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing!


My Story:
What got me into blogging was reading the book 60 Postcards by Rachel Chadwick. The book is absolutely amazing and I felt truly heartbroken but uplifted by the end of it. The use of a blog in that novel was to bring lots of people together who found postcards Rachel left around Paris in memory of her mother. I love the fact that a blog can bring people together, so this was one of my reasons for starting. I wanted to be a part of something that essentially brings people from around the world together. The second reason was that I could read and learn about different people and places. The feeling of bringing people together from all over is quite special. We all have different opinions and talents and I really enjoy learning about them. Also, writing seems very cathartic. I like this feeling too. There’s nothing quite like getting everything out on a page. 

Then came the issue of what, exactly, I would blog about. Well, I’ve always got my head in a book of some sort and I’m usually supplying baked goods to my students at work. Therefore, my premise came alive. Not original, but personal to me. 

Finally, and only recently I’ve started to branch out by adding posts with my visits to places and my ‘photography’. I use the term photography lightly. It’s basically snaps I’ve taken with my iPhone when I’m out and about. I’m hardly an expert! I do like taking photos though. It’s nice to document where you’ve been and what you’ve seen I think. I’m trying really hard to balance my work/life matters out. Hence why I’m going to lots of places and trying to experience new things. It’s easier at the minute because I’m on my summer holiday. We’ll see how that works out in September!

Basically, that’s my story. I feel lucky because I have some lovely followers who always leave me supportive messages. I’m really enjoying my blog and I think it reflects me well. I hope everyone else enjoys it too! 


My Advice:

I was really scared when I started if I’m honest. What if people disagree with the books I like/dislike and shout at me? What if people find my posts silly and uninteresting? Eventually, I thought sod it! I am doing it for me. So, I post about things I care about and enjoy. But, the best advice I think I could give anyone is to be yourself. Also, blogging is a lot of fun so enjoy it. Go in with no expectations. I’m having the best time and I genuinely thought I was the only one reading my posts. Post about what you want to post about, share posts of things you enjoy. Who cares about what others think? To be fair, the likelihood is that people will like it too! If they don’t, so what? Your blog is for you. So: have fun, enjoy yourself and read around. There are some brilliant blogs out there. 


My Nominations: 

I’ve really no idea if these lovely people have been nominated before, so if you have, well done and I apologise! Feel free to leave if you’re too busy to do also. πŸ™‚ 

Smiling Notes

Analee @ Book Snacks

Brandi and Stacy @ Paper Plane Lane

Gail @ Snap Shot Incursive

Emily @ The Geek Undergraduate

Karen @ Simple Life Happy Thoughts

Claire @ Art and Soul

Dublin Bookworm

The Literary Counsellor

Vacation Mode

Nicola @ Literary Ramblings

Miranda @ Violets Vegnecomics

Be Different Buddy

Giovanna @ Book Coma Blog

Daniel @ Daniel Waltztwt

Well done everyone! Enjoy the nomination πŸ™‚ I am looking forward to reading your replies if you take part! 

BL X

28 Comments

Filed under Award, Nomination

28 responses to “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Your advice is great! Quite right: blog for you and don’t worry about other people. Everyone’s entitled to their opinion πŸ™‚
    Thank you for nominating me! It’s always so lovely to be nominated for awards. Sorry to say that I already did this one (I’m so terrible at getting round to them… I have 4 queued up to do…): http://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2015/07/21/blogger-recognition-award/
    But, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your story and the advice that you have shared! I’m of a similar opinion..share what makes you happy! πŸ™‚
    Thank you so much for the nomination..I am very happy that you thought of nominating me… πŸ™‚ Will post it as soon as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Erika

    Loved reading about your story. This is such a fun award especially since you get to know how everyone’s blog came to be.

    Not an expert on photography?! You’ve taken some great photos. Definitely much better than what I would take myself. πŸ™‚

    Great advice! I totally understand about being afraid of not being liked because of your own opinions. However, it’s your blog so say whatever you want and I’m sure that there are people who will like you and respect you for your honesty. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you for such positive feedback and thank you for the nomination! You are such a lovely person. I really do adore your blog. Thank you πŸ™‚
      I’m looking forward to reading more responses if I am honest! X

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so glad you got over your fear, I was the exact same way. Everyone is, I think, at the start, fearing that people won’t like their work, and it’s always great when we realize they do! We blog for no one but ourselves, and it’s important to remember that. And to have fun, for sure! Great advice, Charley!
    And thank you for nominating me, I already did it, but I appreciate the thought! ❀ You can check it out here, if you’d like. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Pingback: The Blogger Recognition Award | Book Snacks

  6. Hello! I’ve been a silent lurker on your blog for a few weeks now but thought I’d say hi and let you know that you were one of my Liebster Award nominations. My questions are at https://thebluebore.wordpress.com/2015/07/28/the-liebster-award/

    I can see you’ve had a few nominations and tags recently so if you fancy giving this one a miss, or saving it for later, then that’s quite all right!

    Love the blog btw x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hiii! Thanks for this nomination and for leaving me a message. I really like your blog. Pic sorry to say I’ve been nominated for this before, but I may do it again! Thank you though. I enjoyed reading your answers πŸ™‚ x

      Like

  7. Congratulations on your nomination and for this lovely post. It’s always nice to see how it started for people. Thanks also for Miranda’s nomination – she will thank you herself as soon as she gets a chance but she is busy at the frying pan right now πŸ˜‰ Have a great hols πŸ˜€

    Like

  8. Hi BooksandBakes1! Congratulations on your award πŸ˜€

    Thank you very much for the Blogger Recognition award! How exciting πŸ˜€ The 60 Postcards sounds like a really interesting book, it’s great to hear about your journey through your blog πŸ™‚

    Thank you very much, and congratulations! πŸ˜€ Have a great day xxxxx
    Love Miranda xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thanks for your patience, Charley!
    πŸ“– 🍰 πŸ“– Read, Bake, Read πŸ“– 🍰 πŸ“–
    🍰 “Blogger Recognition Award!” 🍰

    It’s no secret people hang out in coffee shops and book stores for the atmosphere and aromas. After all, it’s becoming a favorite pastime as well as a way to connect with others. If you enjoy getting to know other bloggers, please accept this nomination and click on the following link. http://snapshotsincursive.com/2015/10/20

    Like

  10. Wow I barely saw that you nominated me! Thanks! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

