Present From The Postman – Go Set A Watchman 

So, today I received my highly anticipated and eagerly awaited copy of Harper Lee’s Go Set A Watchman. 

I’ve been patient and good, I haven’t read the first chapter that has surfaced the internet. I want to experience the novel as a whole. I’ve waited this long, like the rest of us, so I can wait to read it as a whole piece. 

As I’m sure you’re all aware, there’s been a huge amount of press attention over the past few days, both positive and some quite critical responses. I must admit the snippets I have read have worried me. I adore Atticus Finch. He is a character I grew up with, one I respected and admired. What if my impression of him changes? Can he really have changed and become this ‘awful’ character I’ve heard about in some reports? Nevertheless, it will be interesting to see exactly what the novel teaches us. 

I’ve decided to read this book as a stand alone novel, or try to at least. I feel this could bring about some difficulties (I’m an avid Mockingbird fan after all). But, I don’t want to write off the novel before even reading it and basing this on speculation in the press. 

What do you think? Should To Kill A Mockingbird fans be worried? I’ll review this as soon as I’ve read it (like everyone else!) 

Big love x 

Leave a comment

Filed under American Literature, New Books

Leave a Reply

