West End News – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

 

It’s been 18 years (wow!) since Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone was published in the UK. A lot has happened in this time: 7 novels, 8 films, Platform 9 3/4s opened in London with the trolley in the wall and the Studio Tour just to name a few. 

Therefore, I could not be more excited when I stumbled across this Harry Potter news this morning. I felt like I had ants in my pants. I just couldn’t keep still. Awkward when you’re at work! Cue some funny looks…

What’s caused all reaction? I kind of gave it away in the title… So, it has been announced that Harry Potter will be hitting the Palace Theatre in London’s West End in 2016. J.K. Rowling has teamed up with playwrite Jack Thorne and director John Tiffany to give devoted fans another slice of the Harry Potter action. 

It’s still very much hush hush about the details, but we know it contains untold stories of Harry’s history. Rumours of a prequel have been floating around for months. However, I don’t think anyone expected a play. I certainly didn’t. Rowling always has this air of mystery around her. Are the rumours correct? A prequel implies stories about Hary’s parents. Or, could the rumours be wrong and include parts about Harry’s life after the final novel left it? I doubt that, it seemed a pretty neat, tied up ending to me. There is something about imagining an old man Harry Potter though. 

Tickets go on sale this autumn (seriously why such a long wait?), with more updates on their website coming soon. I’ve already saved it to my favourites with the plan to check daily. http://www.harrypottertheplaylondon.com 

I feel lucky to have grown up with Harry. I was one of those kids who queued at midnight for the latest book, went home and read it so that when I got to school no one could ruin it for me. This is am proud of. What a revolution. I can’t wait to find out more about this play. Moreover, I can’t wait to go and see it! 

  
BL xx

Leave a comment

Filed under Harry Potter, London

Leave a Reply

